LIASA Librarian of the Year announced!

The Librarian of the Year Award was announced during the Gala Dinner at the LIASA Conference on 13 October 2016. The Librarian of the Year is a role model for the Library and Information Services community and a person whose contributions make a lasting impact on the sector. This accolade is granted by peers in recognition of the achievements and accomplishments of inspiring and exceptional public, academic, school and special librarians.

LIASA takes pride in awarding this prestiguous award to the following:

Librarian of the Year 2016
Shared between Laila Vahed (KwaZulu-Natal Branch) & Ina Smith (Gauteng North Branch). The awards were sponsored by UKS & Sapnet.


First Runner-up
Mercia Sas (Western Cape Branch). This award was sponsored by Sabinet.