Call for African Institutions to sign the Berlin Declaration

Demonstrating your support for Open Access is a first, important, and also relatively easy process, before starting to address a statement or a policy. You can find the list of signatories at (scroll down for list of African signatories):

This far, 17 SA institutions have signed this declaration (attached), and it would be great is more African counterparts can also sign.

If your organization has not signed yet, but would like to do so, please email

Signatories from Africa (July 2016)
Academy of Science of South Africa
Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia
Addis Continental Institute of Public Health, Ethiopia
Arba Minch College of Health Sciences, Ethiopia
Bibliotheca Alexandrina, Chatby, Alexandria, Egypt
Cape Peninsula University of Technology, South Africa
Catholic University of Health and Allied Sciences, Mwanza, Tanzania
Covenant University Ota, Nigeria
Durban University of Technology, South Africa
Ifakara Health Institute, Salaam, Tanzania
Institut Pasteur de Bangui, Central African Republic
Jimma University, Ethiopia
Kenyatta University, Kenya
Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Kumasi, Ghana
Library And Information Association Of South Africa, Pretoria, South Africa
Mansoura Faculty of Medicine, Egypt
Maseno University, Kenya
Mbarara University of Science & Technology, Uganda
Mekelle University, Ethiopia
Midlands State University, Zimbabwe
National Institute Of Oncology, Rabat, Morocco
National Research Foundation Of South Africa, South Africa
National University of Lesotho, Roma, Lesotho
National University of Science and Technology Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
North-West University, Potchefstroom, South Africa
Rabat Medical & Pharmacy School, Morocco
Rhodes University, South Africa
Tshwane University of Technology, South Africa
Université d´Abomey-Calavi, Benin
Universite de Dschang, Cameroon
Université de Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Universiteit Stellenbosch, South Africa
University of Buea, Cameroon
University of Cape Town, South Africa
University of Ghana, Legon, Ghana
University of Johannesburg, South Africa
University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban, South Africa
University of Nairobi, Kenya
University of Pretoria, South Africa
University of Rwanda, Rwanda
University of Science Techniques and Technologies of Bamako, Mali
University of South Africa, Pretoria, South Africa
University of the Free State, Bloemfontein, South Africa
University of the Western Cape, South Africa
University of Witwatersrand, South Africa
University of Yaounde I, Cameroon