From the President: LIASA Professional Body National Board

Dear Colleagues

Taking a painstaking approach to this critical matter, the LIASA EXCO spent time on developing the guidelines for a Professional Body (PB) Board and, finalised  these after extensive consultation with relevant stakeholders and, endorsement by the LIASA Representative Council.  Invitations, following the terms of reference, went out to:

  • The immediate past president to serve as an interim chair of the PB Board
  • Current LIASA President and President Elect
  • Past LIASA Presidents
  • LIASA Manager to serve as secretary of the PB Board and
  • One representative from:
    • Public Libraries
    • Higher Education Libraries
    • Special Libraries
    • Library Schools
    • School Library Sector
    • Research Institute Sector

It is my pleasure to announce the following members of the first LIASA Professional Body: National Board for the term 2016-2019:

  • The LIASA President- Ms Segametsi Molawa
  • The LIASA President Elect- Mr Mandla Ntombela
  • The LIASA Immediate Past President – Ms Ujala Satgoor (Interim Chair of the PB Board)
  • The LIASA Past Presidents- Mr Robert Moropa, Ms Rachel More, Ms Naomi Haasbroek
  • The LIASA Manager- Ms Annamarie Goosen (PB Board Secretary)

Representatives from:

  • Public Libraries: Ms Ninnie Steyn
  • Higher Education Libraries: Ms Shirlene Neerputh
  • Special Libraries: Ms Lyn Johnson

No nominations were received from:

  • Library Schools
  • School Library Sector
  • Research Institute Sector

Thank you with appreciation to all who supported this process this far.  Not forgetting those who advised and those who sacrificed their time to ensure that the selection of representatives from the various sub-sectors was freely and fairly done.

Kind regards