According to the LIASA Constitution, management of the Association is vested in the membership, which acts as its legislative authority at the Annual General Meeting (AGM). The AGM mandates the Representative Council, as its highest executive organ, to act on behalf of the Association and carry out its resolutions within the powers granted to it. The Representative Council is made up of the elected members of EXCO, Branch Chairs, Branch Chairs-Elect, Interest Group Chairs, editors of the LIASA publications and the head of the LIASA National Office.

The Association is further governed by the following:

  • Executive Committee (9 members)
  • Branches (10 branches)
    • Gauteng North
    • Gauteng South
    • Eastern Cape
    • Western Cape
    • Northern Cape
    • North-West
    • Limpopo
    • KwaZulu-Natal
    • Free State
    • Mpumalanga
  • Interest Groups (10 interest groups)
    • Higher Education Libraries Interest Group (HELIG)
    • Information and Communication Technology in Libraries Interest Group (ICTLIG)
    • Interest Group for Bibliographic Standards (IGBIS)
    • Interlending Interest Group (ILLIG)
    • LIASA Special Libraries Interest Group (LiSLIG)
    • Marketing and Advocacy Interest Group (MAIG)
    • Public and Community Libraries Interest Group (PACLIG)
    • Research, Education and Training Interest Group (RETIG)
    • School Library and Youth Services Interest Group (SLYSIG)
    • Support Staff Interest Group (SSIG)

View a description of roles and responsibilities for various portfolios within IGs/Branches.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.