Honoraria for SAJLIS reviewers 2017

Honoraria for SAJLIS reviewers (2017)

It gives me great pleasure to announce that the following individuals have been selected for award of an honorarium for their reviewing for the South African Journal of Libraries and Information Science:

Emeritus Professor Christine Stilwell (University of KwaZulu-Natal)

Dr Lizette King (University of the Western Cape)

Emeritus Associate Professor Karin de Jager (University of Cape Town)

Mr Patrick Mapulanga (University of Malawi)

Mr Mzwandile Shongwe (University of Zululand)

Their selection was based on the following criteria:

  1. Number of review requests satisfied for the year
  2. Depth and quality of review
  3. Contribution to mentoring and development of authors of manuscripts requiring enhancement
  4. Timeous response to urgent requests from the journal
  5. Demonstration of leadership and expertise in a specific area of LIS


These awards of honoraria for reviewing were ratified by the EXCO of LIASA and will be made on an annual basis. Our sincere thanks go to all reviewers who contribute to quality assurance of the journal and our congratulations to the above individuals for their outstanding contributions. This year, in the spirit of growing the next generation of LIS authors and reviewers, we have decided to reward at least two young reviewers.

A/Prof. Jaya Raju


South African Journal of Libraries and Information Science