Librarian of the year 2016


Nomination for 2016

LIASA is proud to call for nominations for the Librarian of the Year Award for 2016

The Librarian of the Year is a role model for the Library and Information Services community and a person whose contributions make a lasting impact on the sector.

Generous prizes will be awarded to the winners! This prestigious award may be used for any educational purpose (either visits to relevant institutions locally or internationally, attending relevant conferences or studies).


  1. 15 June 2016 Extended to 30 June 2016 – Branch Nominations: The deadline for members to submit nominations to the Branches is 30 June 2016 and only those nominations received by the relevant LIASA Branch by this date are to be considered. The Branches will organize their own adjudication process and announce their Branch winner and finalist at their Annual General Meetings, prior to conference.
  2. 31 August 2016 – Submission of details and relevant documentation of the Branch winner (finalist) to the National Office.
  3. 10 October 2016 – National adjudication of the Branch winners (finalists): Adjudication at a national level will take place in Durban on the first day of the 17th Annual LIASA Conference by an independent committee.
  4. 13 October 2016 – Final Announcement. The three finalists and the overall winner of the LIASA Librarian of the Year Award will be announced at the 2016 LIASA Conference Gala Dinner.

Selection criteria

All nominations submitted will be treated with the strictest confidence. All nominees will be evaluated on the following criteria: The nominee should:

  • Be a paid-up LIASA member for a minimum of 5 consecutive years
  • Be knowledgeable about the LIS sector and its resources
  • Demonstrate high levels of professionalism
  • Currently be engaged in the LIS sector with a minimum of 5 years in the field.
  • Must have a recognized LIS qualification.


Previous winners of the Librarian of the Year Award are not eligible for this award. Members of service providers of library related products are not eligible to participate in this award.

Members of the EXCO, Representative Council, and the Branch BEC are eligible for this award.

Rules and Conditions

At least 5 branches should have chosen Branch winners to compete in the national adjudication process. If a minimum of 5 branches were not reached there will not be an award that year.

The Branches should organize their own adjudication process by an independent panel and the name of one nominee (finalist) should be submitted to the National Office by 31 August 2016.

The nomination form must include:

  • Nomination form to be completed and signed by the nominator
  • A motivation statement of a maximum of 200 words by the nominator on the reason for the nomination
  • A profile of the nominee
  • An essay by the nominee which outlines his/her opinion on the following:
    • LIASA’s role in the LIS sector and the future role that the nominee believes LIASA should play.
    • As the prestigious award winner, what would the projects/issues be that you would like to see addressed in the LIS sector.

Additional requirements:

The Branch finalist submission to the LIASA National Office must also include a short CV and a clear digital colour head and shoulders photograph of their candidate. This information will be used to publicize details of the nominees prior to the awards ceremony.

All national finalists should be able to attend the interviews and the Annual Conference.

It will be required from all national finalists to produce a poster on their campaign for the Annual Conference.

Important things to note for the 3 successful awardees

  1. Upon submission of travel/conference/training arrangements and a corresponding budget to the LIASA National Office by the successful individual, the money will be deposited into her/his account
  2. On return/completion of the trip/conference/training, they will:
  • Submit a formal report to the LIASA EXCO which will also be shared with the sponsoring entity.
  • Write an article for the LIASA-in-Touch within a year of receiving the award.
  • The National winner will present a report of how the prize money was applied at the following year’s Annual Conference / AGM
  • All three national winners will present a poster at the following year’s Conference to highlight their use of the prize money
  • Submit articles on topics related to your field of interest for each of the 4 issues of the LIASA-in-Touch for the Librarian of the Year column.

Print friendly versions: