This page is dedicated to colleagues promoted within the profession, or for new qualifications obtained, retirements and more.

Please complete the LIASA Contact form (Subject “Personalia”) to notify us of news in the profession.

Prof Rocky Ralebipi-Simela April 2018 Joined OCLC EMEA Executive Council
Ms Makgabela Chuene Feb 2018 Retire as Executive Director: Library and Information Services, University of Limpopo
Ms Nomawethu Danster Feb 2018 Executive Director: Library and Information Services, University of Limpopo
Mr John Tsebe May 2017 President: AfLIA Governing Council 2017 – 2019
Mr Mandla Ntombela May 2017 Vice-President: AfLIA Governing  Council 2017 – 2019
Mrs Segametsi Molawa May 2017 Regional Representative – Southern Africa: AfLIA 2017 – 2019
Mrs Nthabiseng Kotsokoane May 2017 Chairperson: Academic & Special Libraries Section: AfLIA 2017 – 2019
Prof Rocky Ralebipi-Simela May 2017 Chairperson: National Libraries Section: AfLIA 2017 – 2019
Mrs Christelle Lubbe May 2017 Secretary: Public & community Libraries Section: AfLIA 2017 – 2019
Prof MD Rocky Ralebipi-Simela April 2017 Vice Chair of the Conference of Directors of National Libraries (CDNL)
Mr Flippie van der Walt March 2017 UNISA Department of Information Servces Alumnus of the Year 2016
Mrs Segametsi Molawa 1 September 2016 Appointed as Director: Information Resources Distribution, UNISA
Mr Maropene Ramabina 29 July 2016 Vice Chancellor Excellence in Community Engagement Award
Dr Nthabiseng Mosala-Bryant 18 April 2016 PhD Graduate, University of Kwa-Zulu Natal
Mr Michael Jurd 2016 Mayoral Award for Initiative & Leadership, Mowbray Library
Ms Brenda Nsanzya 2016 Appointed as Faculty Library Manager for Economic & Management Sciences, University of Pretoria
Mr Mark Frier 2016 Appointed as Director: Client Services, JS Gericke Library, Stellenbosch University
Ms Neli Kaunda 2016 Appointed as Director: Library Services (Potchefstroom Campus)